Road Rally Through the Pine Barrens

“Festivus – for the rest of us” – is what Frank Costanza (Seinfeld) used to celebrate. It’s dawned on me that there are many readers that would love to get out and enjoy the NJ Pine Barrens while learning a bit about it, but don’t know where to start, since they’re not botanists, historians, environmentalists, off-roaders or any other of a number of tags so many “out there in the woods” give themselves, whether real or made up.  Thanks to the derogatory image of “Pineys” given by a few ignorant writers from elsewhere in the world, there are some local residents who think they would be venturing into some evil jungle where they’ll be lucky to escape unscathed (but that’s a story for another post).  Ignorance breeds fear, so I want those who don’t know much about the Pine Barrens to learn what it really is all about. In this way, they will then start to understand why it’s so important to save the Pine Barrens and “what lies beneath.”  So then, my goal: to get some of  “the rest of us” out, to get to know and appreciate the Pines.

I remember as a kid, one of my friends used to go on road rallies with her boyfriend and loved it! So why not? This wouldn’t be geo-caching; it only entails any type of street-legal vehicle, a pen and paper, and a map , so folks of all ages can take part. I’ve talked to one of PineyPower’s sponsors, who has agreed have their location serve as an ending point where food and beverage will be available. This rally won’t be GPS-based, or time/distance-based, but a “Gimmick Rally”, as I’ve learned it’s called.  Directions to several points of interest will be in riddles, and time will not be a factor, since I want this to be a safe day!  This could be a huge success – or a huge flop. I don’t know how many will be interested, especially since the cost could be up to $50 per person (but will include a tee shirt and the after-rally meal).  There will be a prize/prizes for the top scorer, probably including a cash award. It could be 10 cars (I think this will be the minimum) or 50+.  I haven’t decided if any walking will be involved, but tend to think it should be limited, allowing for fewer physical limitations. I would like the Rally to be ADA compliant, giving even more people a great way to learn about the Pine Barrens. 

I haven’t set a date yet. I’m thinking early summer, because so few things are going on in the Pines then, and because everyone will be in their cars during the heat of the day.  But, that might be too soon. I do plan to have Rally sponsors to offer prizes and other fun additions.

What I will need are volunteers to help organize and run this event, sooooo, if you’re interested, please send me an email, especially if you’ve been involved with this type of rally in the past. You’ll get a special “STAFF” event tee shirt,  free food and recognition for your efforts!  I’d like to hear feedback, so please offer your comments!

~ by Cathy on December 27, 2008.

3 Responses to “Road Rally Through the Pine Barrens”

  1. That sounds like a good idea. I would be interested, however given the current economic situation, $50 might be a little steep for some people even if it includes a shirt and food. Pine rally 09!!!!!

  2. I’m glad you like the idea of a Pine Barrens Road Rally. I am hoping to get sponsors to help with expenditures, so the $50 is a high-end estimate. Do keep in mind that the grand prize will be partly cash, coming from entry fees! More details will be posted as they become available.

  3. Great idea!
    http://houseofbluesatlanticcity.org

Leave a comment